Youth Ministry Hunter/Gatherer

I am currently reading Speaking to Teenagers (written by Duffy Robbins and Doug Fields) and came across a chapter entitled “Gathering Material to Make Your Prep Easier.” Gathering and s0rting illustrations and sermon ideas is a weakness I have; it always seems like I gather things but never seem to use them.

After reading this chapter, I have made it my goal to gather at least 5 things per workday. It does not matter if it is a photo, funny story, statistic, or quote; every little piece may help me down the road. Since we are in the 21st Century, I have decided to scan everything and store them on my computer in relevant folders.

Now it’s your turn: how do you gather, sort, and store your illustrations and other materials? By computer, filing cabinet, or large box? Do you tag them, and if so, do you give items multiple tags?

3 Responses to Youth Ministry Hunter/Gatherer

  1. mike says:

    I tend to do a combination of all of them. I’ve got a stack on my desk right now that needs to get filed. I’ve got files in my filing cabinet. Then I’ve got my computer files. I’m not sure which one is more effective for me, but I do know I don’t like to “drag” all the physical files around when I move – that was no fun.

  2. Brandon says:

    Yeah, I am trying to consolidate everything onto my computer. I have files everywhere, and sometimes duplicates in different places. Mike, how do you tag and/or sort your information for easy access?

  3. […] Websites for Reference As I explained earlier (see Youth Ministry Hunter/Gatherer), I have been gathering resources, illustrations and ideas for my virtual reference filing cabinet. […]

Leave a Reply

